We hosted our first Thanksgiving dinner!

Fried turkey? Why not? A generous friend offered to fry a turkey for us and deliver it to our house. How kind is that!  And it was delicious.

I baked up a storm the previous day: I made an apple and cranberry crumble, a tangerine tart and cookies, as well as the cranberry sauce. On Thursday, we made mashed potatoes, green beans, stuffing and roasted sweet potatoes. We didn’t follow the tradition to the letter because we don’t care for marshmallows with our sweet potatoes. We also had dinner rolls.

Cranberry sauce in the making
Cranberry sauce in the making

This was our first Thanksgiving as hosts and was a total success. The funny thing was that we were all foreigners, 4 Brits and me! But we had a great time. As custom dictates, the guys went upstairs to watch the Dallas Cowboys game, which was rather disappointing, and the girls stayed in the lounge and chatted away with a cup of tea in hand.

My table
My table

Back in the mists of time, a friend invited us to spend our first Thanksgiving ever at his aunt’s house in San Antonio. We weren’t sure what was going on but we had a fairly good time. We spent the next Thanksgiving with our friends from Salt Lake City, who used to live round the corner from the apartment in Buenos Aires. One more Thanksgiving in Boston and then we went abroad every year to visit whichever family we weren’t spending Christmas with. So hosting Thanksgiving dinner for the first time was a fun and pleasant experience.

My plate
My plate

 

What’s your favourite Thanksgiving dish?

If you do not celebrate Thanksgiving in your country, what’s your favourite holiday?

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

