I went to the US Open 2014!

Going to the US Open has become a tradition, my tennis friends and I go to the US Open in New York for Labor Day weekend. We have had a blast every time. This year, we stayed at a nobby hotel in a nice area within walking distance of Grand Central Station. It was perfect as we had to take the number 7 subway to Willets Point-Mets station in Flushing.

Hi, girls!
Hi, girls! Michelle is inside the shop.

The USTA National Tennis Center is a shrt walk from the subway platform. Doors open at 9.30 and matches begin at 11.00. On Saturday, we left the hotel a little later than we would have liked. The lines at the East Gate were impossibly long. We walked to the South Gate, where the line was long but moved fast.

This is what the walk from the subway looked like.
This is what the walk from the subway looked like.

And there were more people inside:

Entering the premises from the South Gate.
Entering the premises from the South Gate.

There were so many people that if you had to leave the Armstrong stadium, or the grandstand, or any court, chances were you lost your seat. So when I found a good seat, i.e. in the shade, I stayed there for about three hours until hunger, thirst or mother nature made me leave.

Every stadium and court was full to capacity.
Every stadium and court was full to capacity.

We went hungry and dehydrated on Saturday,  which is a silly thing to do on a sunny summer’s day, all because we didn’t want to give up our seats. So on Sunday, we had a delicious breakfast of grilled cheese sandwiches from this truck and made sure we had plenty of water.

I had the brie, truffle butter and caramelized shallots grilled sandwich.
I had the brie, truffle butter and caramelized shallots grilled sandwich.

I had the chance to watch top players, such as…

Marin Cilic
Marin Cilic
Jo-Wilfred Tsonga. I was sad when the lost to Murray
Jo-Wilfred Tsonga. I was sad when the lost to Murray
The Bryan brothers
The Bryan brothers

There was rain the forecast for Sunday. It hekd off until about 5, when all hell broke loose. The matches were cancelled because of thunder activity. By the time we reached the subway platform, we were completely soaked by torrential rain and crosswind, in spite of my rainproof jacket and umbrella.

USOpen20142

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

3 thoughts on “I went to the US Open 2014!”

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

