School zones

As an expat, I had to adapt to a new culture, to its rules and social mores. Actually, it was a conscious decision, I decided to adapt and adopt new customs in order to integrate. I know that some people prefer to stay in a close-knit group, speaking their mother tongue and not venturing much outside their comfort zone. This may work for them but is not enough for me.

school zone

One of the new –for me- aspects of living in Dallas is that of driving. One can’t practically exist without a car, especially living in the suburbs. I never owned a car in Buenos Aires because I felt it wasn’t necessary so this was a big lifestyle change.

I’ve been living and driving in Dallas for eight years now. Every so often I reflect on what is different from my hometown of Buenos Aires and school zones is one such thing.

There are signs that warn you you;’re about to enter a school zone and should reduce your speed to 20 mph only if the amber light is flashing. You can resume your speed when told to do so by another sign. Although cellphone use in the car is allowed, it is strictly prohibited in school zones. I you ask me, authorities should ban it completely. I see many idiots texting and driving at 70 mph on the highways.

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

3 thoughts on “School zones”

  1. Eight years is quite a while, Ana! Where do you see your future? Are you tied to Dallas for work? I don’t know if you have children and like the American schooling system? I presume that in the long term you will want to return to Argentina? The little I’ve seen of it (online) looks beautiful. 🙂

    Like

    1. We ended up in Dallas because of my husband’s job. I’m tied to him, not to the city 🙂
      We don’t have children and, from what I hear, the schooling system here has highs and lows like everywhere else.
      The plan is to return to Argentina in a few years. We own property there, which makes the transition somewhat easier.

      Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

