An evening of tango and classical music with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra

One of the radio stations I listen to while driving around Dallas is Classical 101 FM. The other day, I heard the end of announcement about tango and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. I thought it was a good combination worth exploring. So I did.

2. Dallas City Performance Hall
Dallas City Performance Hall

Accordingly, we got tickets for one of the Remix Concerts organized by the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and held at the Dallas City Performance Hall. The concert started at 7. There was also a live tango performance in the foyer at 6, as well as free snacks, like mini empanadas, and drinks, which we had to pay for. We brought together our two cultures by ordering a cuba libre (me) and a gin and tonic (Sean).

7. Dallas City Performance Hall
Dallas City Performance Hall foyer. The spire of the Cathedral of Guadalupe in the background.

We hung out, drinking and nibbling, people- watching and chatting. It was fun and relaxed. I though I’d match the evening’s theme by wearing a short black dress, a red jacket and a red flower in my hair. As it turned out, I wasn’t the only one thinking along those lines!

11. Dallas City Performance Hall
Red and black theme

It was open seating. I must say I was impressed by the concert hall. It’s not too big –as these places go- and modern and cozy at the same time. And the seats are comfortable.

It was conductor Tito Muñoz’ debut with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and he put together tonight’s concert. His idea was to “keep it light and fun… all these pieces are fun.”

18. Dallas City Performance Hall
Inside the Dallas City Performance Hall, ready for the concert to begin

The first part of the program was Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks (1938), Tempo giusto – Allegretto – Con moto. It was a 15 piece ensemble. I’m not a music critic or connoisseur but I enjoyed the music very much.

Then came the tango. It was Astor Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires (Cuatro estaciones porteñas.) This time there were 35 musicians on stage. I absolutely loved it. The music took me back home. It brought images of the streets of Buenos Aires, its iconic buildings, its chaotic traffic, its people. It captured the atmosphere of the city perfectly. Argentinean composer Astor Piazzolla revolutionized the world of tango with his nuevo tango style and his pieces capture the essence of Buenos Aires. The Four Seasons is a good example. The audience seemed to like it as well, as there was a standing ovation.

20. Dallas City Performance Hall
The full orchestra

The concert ended with Schumann’s Symphony No. 1, Spring (1841) with the full orchestra this time. It was magical.

Another well-deserved standing ovation to end this wonderful evening.

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

2 thoughts on “An evening of tango and classical music with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra”

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

