CBBH Photo Challenge: Blue

This month´s CBBH Photo Challenge is the colour blue. On her post, Marianne writes that “Over the ages blue has become associated with steadfastness, dependability, wisdom and loyalty (note how many uniforms are blue).” Well, my school uniform was mainly blue (navy blue tunic, sky blue shirt, blue and maroon sash and tie, blue socks and brown shoes) so this made me chuckle. Then I remembered I took a photo of the old boys from the Jersey Militia back in June 2008. Jersey is one of my favourite places on earth. The day I arrived from Dallas, I went for a walk around St. Helier. I was jetlagged so I don’t really remember the details, but I came across a formal ceremony. Since it was June 6th, I assume they were commemorating the Battle of Normandy, but don’t quote me on that.

Jersey militiamen. Funnily enough, these ladies are also wearing blue!

More on uniforms. This time, I present you two granaderos (grenadiers) standing guard outside General José de San Martin’s mausoleum inside Buenos Aires Cathedral. San Martin is one of the founding fathers of Argentina and part of his great legacy is the Regiment of Mounted Grenadiers (Regimiento de Granaderos a Caballo), to which these two soldiers belong. Our national flag –blue, by the way- is draped over his tomb.

Two granaderos standing guard. What happens if they get bored, or tired, or thirsty, I wonder?

Patagonia is a land of deep blues and greens that turn into greys and white in the winter.

Photo credit: my parents

The tidal range in Jersey is one of the largest in the world. According to Visit Jersey, “The landmass of Jersey grows by around a third when the tide is out, ensuring the tidal range is one of the largest in the world.” I found it puzzling to see boats marooned on the sand like this one, until I learned about the tides and got used to the sight.

Le Hocq, Parish of St. Clement, Jersey (Channel Islands)

A fun display at Kensington Market, Toronto:

My two blog picks of the month:

Seashells and Sunflowers, by an American expat living in Argentina

Tour Absurd, a funny blog written by an American expat living in Ireland

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

17 thoughts on “CBBH Photo Challenge: Blue”

  1. Hey Ana – welcome to the CBBH Photo Challenge for this month. Strange fact about the uniforms mostly being blue, isn´t it? How smart the uniforms of the two granaderos standing guard, are!

    I can´t make up my mind which is my favourite of your photos, between the ones in Patagonia or the lovely boat in the Channel Islands.

    Do you have any blogs that you particularly enjoy, that you could recommend to us?

    Great photos 🙂

    Like

      1. Thanks for adding the links, Ana. Loved reading about Katie´s Crepes with Dulce de Leche as well as Katrina´s crazy adventures around Italy and Ireland.

        Love your blog choice 🙂

        Like

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, Ana! Blue is my absolute favorite color. 🙂 That last photo with the rabbit is fun yet kinda creepy. lol My favorite picture is the one with the boat stranded on the shore.

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

