Bluebonnets

Spring in Dallas: wildflowers

Engelmann daisy
Engelmann daisy

I love flowers and since spring in Texas is rather short, I try to make th most of it by taking photos of as many flowers as I can before they wilt in the horrendous summer heat.

Last weekend, we went to the Arbor Hills Nature Preserve in Plano TX and had the chance to snap some of the native wildflowers.Although it was a good day for photography, it was a bad day for allergies!

I tried to identify them the best I could using this guide but there’s a couple I couldn’t find. If you know the name, please let me know!

Look at the butterfly!
Look at the butterfly!
Texas star
Texas star
Blue gilia? Not sure
Blue gilia? Not sure

Evening primrose
Evening primrose
Indian blankets
Indian blankets (my favourite ones!)
Bluebonnets
Bluebonnets, the official state flower of Texas

 What’s your favourite flower?

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

6 thoughts on “Spring in Dallas: wildflowers”

  1. How pretty! The Indian blankets are my favorite ones. I actually bought some similar ones as potted plants for our yard. Well… similar only in the sense that they have two colors. They’re much smaller and pink/white. It’s the first year I’m trying to pot plants, so we’ll see how it goes. Am a little afraid of the heat, but we’ll see.

    Like

    1. Send some pics of your new plants! We have one indoor plant, which was a housewarming present from a friend, and a rosemary bush in the patio. We really can’t have plants because we travel quite a bit and the would die 😦

      Like

      1. I’ll try to take some and upload them on FB sometime soon 🙂 This is the first year I’m trying to plant a few things. We used to travel much more for longer trips and that’s why I hadn’t so far either. I finally decided to give it a shot since I have not big trips coming up anytime soon anyways…

        Like

  2. So pretty! I used to love going on nature walks back in Pennsylvania, especially in spring and summer when the world was filled with life and delicate wildflowers like these. They’re all lovely, but I think I like the bluebonnets best.

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

