Buenos Aires street art

Lately, I’ve noticed there’s a lot more street art in Buenos Aires than before. Or maybe I didn’t pay attention when I was a resident and now that I’m a tourist of sorts, I see the city through different eyes and notice things.

There’s the traditional murals and sculptures at Caminito/La Boca, created by local artists of note. This relief of Santos Vega was created by renowned Argentinean sculptor Luis Perlotti.

Santos Vega by Luis Perlotti

Some public buildings, like Mercado Dorrego, the antiques market located on the corner of Avenida Dorrego and Niceto Vega, are adorned with graffiti and murals. This was encouraged by the local council to promote and sponsor new artists.

Mercado Dorrego - antiques market

An artistic ad painted on the side of a building above a mural by Carlos Páez Vilaró, a famous artist from Uruguay. This mural represents the city of Buenos Aires.

Artistic ad

Another example of art in public spaces. This urban intervention, painted by Alicia Toscano, can be see under Puente Pacifico, the railroad bridge straddling  Avenida Santa Fe in Palermo.

Pacifico - Av. Santa Fe corner Av. Bullrich

Some artists, like Grupo Muralista Arpillera, lend some beauty to otherwise ugly buildings. This private building is located on the 2200 block of Avenida Juan B. Justo. I say that’s a great way to promote your art and make the city prettier.

Avenida Juan B. Justo 2200

 

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

11 thoughts on “Buenos Aires street art”

  1. I don’t remember a lot of street art in Buenos Aires either, but maybe I just didn’t notice that sort of thing back when then. I like it, though. BA is already a colourful city, this adds to it.

    Like

  2. Beautiful pictures Ana,

    I especially like the murals; we have many of them in the city of Punta Gorda (FL) and I’ve been meaning to go out and take pictures of them, to post on my blog. I guess I will have to do it soon, they tell a story in their unique way and add so much character to the area.

    Never been to Argentina, guess I will have to add it to the “bucket list”!

    Like

  3. Street art is fun, whimsical, and sometimes, thought-provoking. I’d much rather look at a colorful mural or even stencil graffiti than just random “tags” that blight the landscape. Thanks for brightening my morning with these cool photos.

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

