5 fun facts about Canada

We lived in this great country for about a year and a half and had the opportunity to visit many wonderful places, like Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal and Southern Ontario.

Here are a few things I learned or discovered during out time there. The photos are my own.

  • Canada is a constitutional monarchy. This French colony became British, then became an independent dominion and is now a sovereign nation. The sovereign, Queen Elizabeth II, is represented by the Governor General in Parliament, who in turn is appointed by Her Majesty on the advice of the Prime Minister. Tenure is “at pleasure” and generally lasts five years. The current Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada is the Right Hon. David Johnston. (Source: http://www.parl.gc.ca)
Parliament's Centre Block
  • Poutine is delicious. If you think that fries, gravy and cheese curds don’t go well together, think again! This Canadian comfort food is originally from Quebec but is now popular from coast to coast. I first ate in the dead of winter in Ottawa and found it a great remedy against the cold.
  • If you ever wondered how the poppy came to be associated with war veterans and worn on Remembrance Day, Guelph (a city located in Southern Ontario) has the answer. It is the birthplace of Lt. Cl. John McCrae, who wrote the war memorial poem In Flanders Fields: “In Flanders fields, the poppies blow, between the crosses row on row…”
  • Many Canadian cities have an underground network that interconnects important buildings in the downtown core. These networks are called differently in each city. I’m familiar with the PATH in Toronto (not all of its 27 kilometres!) and the RESO in Montreal but I’ve heard that Edmonton, Halifax, Ottawa, Vancouver, Winnipeg and St. John have one too. These underground corridors are lined with shops and food courts, and connect hotels, banks, shopping centres and so on. It’s such a clever solution for pedestrians during the harsh Canadian winters.
A PATH entrance
  • The film industry is very big in Toronto.  Countless famous films have been shot either in the city’s studios or on location around the city. Many scenes that supposedly take place in Manhattan are actually filmed in Dundas Square. Lake Ontario is used in ocean scenes.
On location in Little Italy.
Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

6 thoughts on “5 fun facts about Canada”

  1. Very interesting facts! I had never heard of “poutine” – I can imagine that it must be ideal for the harsh winters there.
    Canada must be a really beautiful country. I took a course on Canadian history and culture when I was studying and I’ve wanted to visit it ever since… Let’s see if I can make it one day soon 😀

    Like

    1. Canada is indeed beautiful. The people are really nice, there are millions of things to do and see. However, I found the food to be not so interesting in Ontario but delicious in Quebec. French and Quebecois food is to die for here.

      Like

  2. I’ve always been intrigued by the idea of poutine, but I’ve never had an opportunity to try it. I haven’t traveled to Canada, but if I were given a chance to go one day, I think I’d like to visit either Montreal or Vancouver.

    Like

      1. Right, Montreal is a very beautiful city. Did you know that this city hosted the first international festival of humour, the Just for Laughs Festival where Jim Carrey participated?
        I had no idea, but I found this article about Canada and there was the info.
        Happy Birthday Canada!!!

        Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

