At Libreria El Ateneo

After meeting a friend –and former colleague- for lunch, I stroll down Avenida Santa Fe in Buenos Aires. I need to speed up to keep up with the other pedestrians or I risk being pushed or bumped into. These are busy people walking with a purpose. I used to be one of them, now I’m one more tourist slowing them down.

It is a strange feeling that of being a visitor to my own hometown. There is a nagging voice in my head telling me to hurry up because I’m late. That reaction is probably set off by the surroundings: the same streets I used to pound when I lived there and was, in fact, late for work. Away from the rat race, I can now observe at my leisure the urban tableaux I once belonged to.

I cross Calle Riobamba and my destination is in the middle of the block. I had been to Librería El Ateneo a handful of times before but I was too busy then to appreciate its beauty. It was just another bookshop. Today, I make a point of looking at every architectural feature in detail.

Librería El Ateneo is housed in a 1919 building originally designed as a theatre, Grand Splendid, which was later turned into a cinema. Back in the mists of time, when I was fourteen, my girlfriends and I made the long trek from the suburbs on a lazy summer afternoon to watch Top Gun at this very cinema.

I join the throngs of visitors snapping happily away at the ornate boxes turned into miniature reading rooms or the magnificent ceiling. I spot the cafe, almost hidden behind the stage’s crimson velvet curtains. Before my eyes, cherubs and Greek masks start dancing on a field of gold leaf.

I peruse the shelves, make a purchase and go out into the street. Happy with my acquisitions and the bagful of memories, I try to decide whether I should take the bus or a taxi back to the hotel.

 

 

 

 

 

Libreria El Ateneo was on the 10 most beautiful bookshops list compiled by The Guardian in 2008

NB: This was partly inspired by a post titled The End for Bookshops?  Thanks, Marie!

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

15 thoughts on “At Libreria El Ateneo”

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

