Photo essay: French influence on the architecture of Buenos Aires

French styles had a great influence on the architecture of Buenos Aires. Especially in the 1920s, French architects were hired to design and build private homes as well as public buildings. These randomly taken photos show why Buenos Aires is sometimes called the Paris of South America.

Avenida 9 de Julio looks like a French boulevard (kind of…)
Avenida Santa Fe
Corner of Avenida Santa Fe and Avenida Callao
The Palacio de las Aguas Corrientes houses the water company and a museum. It’s on Avenida Cordoba 1750.
Fine Arts Museum of Tigre

OK, this last building dates from 1910 and is located about an hour north of the city in Tigre but I couldn’t help it, it’s gorgeous!

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

9 thoughts on “Photo essay: French influence on the architecture of Buenos Aires”

  1. I love the architecture in Buenos Aires, although it’s sad that so many grand buildings have fallen into disrepair or have been demolished altogether. 😦

    I have yet to visit Tigre, but it’s definitely on my list of places to see. I’d like to take one of those boat tours around the delta.

    Like

    1. I know! it breaks my heart that beautiful old buildings are demolished to make way for “progress”.
      Tigre is fun. And you can buy things for the home at Mercado de Frutos (which, in spite of its name, I don’t think they sell fruit anymore)

      Like

    1. Hola Marta! you know what? My hubby and I were walking around the streets around the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona about three years ago and he said “wow, it looks like Buenos Aires” 🙂

      Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

