It’s good to be home

The light spring breeze caresses my face and ruffles loose strands of hair. I’m sitting next to the table where my mother and her friends are playing burako (a version of canasta played with tiles instead of cards) under the shady trees. The are really focused on the game and are very competitive too!

We are at the club where my siblings and I grew up playing tennis, field hockey or football; the same sports club my parents went to when they were dating and my grandfather played racquetball in the 60s and 70s and where now my nieces play tennis and field hockey too. Lots of history here. It’s like home.

As I sit facing the tennis courts, the smells of spring, the sounds of racquets pounding tennis balls pac pac pac, the birds bring back lots of memories. My gang of friends and I running around, my first crush, long summers by the pool, the ladies playing canasta exactly on this same  spot under the trees.

My thirteen year old niece shows up with her BFF, hockey stick in hand.

And then it hits me: my mum is now part of the burako/canasta playing crowd and I was thirteen not long ago. Funny how life goes in cycles.

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

11 thoughts on “It’s good to be home”

  1. It’s amazing how a place can trigger so many memories, isn’t it? I hope you have a wonderful visit with your family and friends here in Argentina. ¡Un abrazo!

    Like

  2. It’s shocking when you realise how quickly time is flowing and visiting family is one way to feel like you been hit by the “Wake up and smell the coffee” stick, eh? The photos people send at Christmas time are eye openers as well, I find. I hope you have a great visit with family:)

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

