Hallowe’en is upon us

Last Friday, October 22nd, our friends Penny and Michael hosted their annual pumpkin carving party at their home in McKinney, Texas. It was a great opportunity to meet up with friends, eat some really good barbeque and have fun. Michael’s Mississippi style ribs with his secret barbeque sauce and Penny’s Texas style brisket were the highlights of the night.

It was a pretty eclectic bunch: two Texans born and bred, one Mississippian (is that word?), two Canadians, two Brits, an Aussie and me. I could have said “three Americans” but I wanted to make the distinction between the two accents and barbeque styles.

At one point we all tried to replicate the Texan drawl. For some reason, it never failed to crack one of the Texans up every time I tried. “Ah lahk this, y’all!” I don’t think I’ve mastered it yet but it sure is fun trying. I want to be a Southern belle!

The following day we attended a Halloween party hosted by one of my tennis friends. Sean and I did not wear fancy dresses but as another guest said “your accent is fancy!” I guess we stood out like a sore thumb not only because we weren’t in costume but because we were the only foreigners with strange accents there. I have the sneaky suspicion that we were the only ones born outside Texas.

Memorable phrases of the night:

  • “Hey, English, I’m taking your wife to the dance floor!”
  • “Look! It’s Wales!” (she was referring to me, not Sean)
  • “The pig pooped on my arm!” (yes, there was a living breathing piglet in attendance)

This is one of the funniest outfits because I think it embodies the prevailing sentiment here:

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

5 thoughts on “Hallowe’en is upon us”

  1. I love Halloween, and I particularly enjoy carving pumpkins. I’ve thought about buying a pumpkin and carving it this year, but I’m still undecided. There’s not much appreciation for Halloween here in Argentina. In fact, I’ve run across a number of people who think it’s an evil, pagan celebration imported from the U.S. to be avoided at all costs! But I say, what’s not to love about a holiday that promises unlimited candy?! 🙂

    Like

    1. Unlimited candy is definitely a plus!
      I think the reason Halloween is not appreciated in Argentina is because it’s not our tradition, it has nothing to do with us, it certainly is an import. Growing up, Halloween was unknown. Since we have our own traditions, I see why some people may think “why should we need somebody else’s?” But I can understand hoe you miss it.
      Have you thought about hosting your own pumpkin carving party? It’s fun and a good way to share your culture with friends and family 🙂

      Like

  2. My friends got on a bus here in Turkey dressed in their Halloween costumes. The whole bus was staring at them for about ten minutes before someone plucked up the courage to ask “excuse me, but why are you dressed like that?”. Perhaps the Turks thought foreigners dressed very strangely.

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

