Jimmy who?

Last weekend we were invited to attend the Jimmy Buffett Tailgate Party in Frisco. I had no clue who that guy was or what the party was for. When I asked, some people looked at me funny and said the names of his greatest hits (by then, I realised he was a singer), Margaritaville and Cheeseburger in Paradise, as if that alone would suffice.

Suffice it did not. I was still clueless and played the I’m-a-foreigner-brought-up-in-another-culture card but still I was expected to know all about parrotheads, grass skirts and coconut bras. What?

Anyway, Sean and I did a little shopping (ice for the cooler, drinks and munchies) before heading to Pizza Hut Park. We eventually found our friends. We paid $2o for parking on a grass lot quite a ways from all the action. We unloaded the cooler, food and chairs and settled down to a nice chat and quite a bit of people-watching.

The girls and I went for a walk. We saw some really hardcore Jimmy Buffett fans dressed in grass skirts and coconut bras (men and women), pirates, parrot hats, and golf carts decked out with shark fins, parrots and palm trees. Lots of drinking games and rivers of alcohol (it was 90F out there).

Lots of people camped out since Friday in their RVs. I just loved how well organised they were: tents, lounge chairs, grills or barbecues (even a few smokers too), loudspeakers, beer kegs, the whole enchilada. Everyone was having fun, singing, drinking, eating, walking around, playing games, waiting for the concert to start in the evening.

Parking in the RV area was $60 and they rented  port-a-potties for $100 a day or $5 per use.

It was an interesting experience, we had fun with our friends and I got to see a different side to the American people, a more playful, childish even, side. I’m not sure I want to do it again next year but I’m sure glad we went.

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

2 thoughts on “Jimmy who?”

  1. Hi Ana! I’ve never heard of this Jimmy, but it’s really surprising that someone’s greatest hit is called “Cheeseburger in Paradise”! I guess the point is just having fun…

    Like

  2. Hah! I just subscribed to your blog – I’m with you, I’m not a fan of Dallas, but I try to consider it home while I’m here! It’s all about the friends, I think. It’s really not that great of a city, though!

    Buenos Aires, on the other hand, looks beautiful! I’ve never been. You guys are looking good in the World Cup!

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

