I embrace my bourgeois life

I love to read other travellers’ adventures because I like to travel and to know about new places. I also like writing so I keep a blog. Three, actually: one is Spanish, one in English and one (in English) about the restaurants we liked in our travels. My friends enjoy my posts and encourage me to keep writing.

But when I compare my posts with other travellers, couchsurfers and backpackers, I feel they’re rather mundane; there’s nothing exotic in them and I feel I’m in a lesser league. I submitted one of my posts to a weekly competition and it didn’t even pass the first round. I lost to posts about things like teaching orphaned elephants to read and write in the jungles of Gobi. OK, that’s not true or even possible but that’s the idea. I don’t go to exotic places, I’ve never met Buddhist monks or tamed a tiger, but that’s OK because that’s not who I am.

I’m not a traveller, I’m a tourist (although I try to mingle with the locals as much as I can). What’s the difference, anyway?

I don’t couchsurf because I’m too shy and too squeamish to sleep in a stranger’s bed (and use their bathroom). Is that a bad thing? I don’t go backpacking for pretty much the same reasons. But I don’t need luxury and 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets: a clean (private) bog is enough for me.

We travel quite a lot because of my hubby’s job and we tend to stay in the same city for a few months at a time. I go out and “explore” whichever city we’re in and then we do fun things together at the weekends, but that’s about it. It’s not exactly watching the sun rise over Mt. Kilimanjaro!

Anyway, unless his next destination is some remote island in the South Pacific, I’ll keep enjoying other people’s adventures and blogging from less adventure-laden places like, oh, Dallas, Toronto or Buenos Aires.

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

12 thoughts on “I embrace my bourgeois life”

  1. The funny thing is though…i think your blogs are just as exciting as someone who is backpacking India because even during those times you document the ordinary you do so in a way that makes it extra-ordinary

    Like

  2. ha-ha, ana, i feel the same way. we actually have a friend that is just that kind of traveller, don’t we….WEEZY. always on exotic trips, so i live vicariously through her. so i see you point!
    i love reading your blogs though, so keep it up.
    =)

    Like

  3. I love reading your blogs. You have the advantage of staying in one location for a while and get to see everything. There are a lot of us who don’t want to couch surf or backpack through jungles. I am just as interested in finding out if fries with poutine are actually good (more really) than finding out if scorpions on a stick are a tasty treat.

    Like

  4. ¡Hola! Hey, places like Dallas, Toronto or Buenos Aires sound very exotic… In fact, Buenos Aires, for example, is one of those places I’ve always wanted to visit! And, no, I ‘ve never had an Argentinian boyfriend, ha, ha! I’d love to know more about those cities. There’s a time for mosquitoes and a time for a cup of cappuccino 🙂

    Like

  5. Marta, I’ll be in BA as from next week and I’ll make sure I dedicate my posts to you 🙂 . Thanks for your comment.
    PS: I prefer cappuccinos to mosquitoes! haha!

    Like

  6. I, for one, am far more impressed by someone who can captivate me with his or her description of the everyday. It’s easy to pull people in with tales of exotic adventures; the stories almost write themselves. Yet, if you can make the simple or even ho-hum aspects of life come alive, if you allow me to see common situations in a different light – well, that to me is good writing. Resist the urge to compare yourself to others. After all, people read your blogs because they like your style, so don’t be afraid to show who you are. 🙂

    Like

  7. Sounds a bit like me. Couchsurfing does not appeal to me. Strapping a giant backpack to my back does not appeal to me. I guess I interchange traveler and tourist. I don’t really make distinctions but so many use “traveler” to show their worldliness. I think those stories more about the simpler aspects to travel are more interesting than ones that show how amazing their adventures were.

    Like

  8. Hi Ana… I’ve just started reading your posts and they’ve pulled me in. So often, I go to a new blog and read only one post. I’ve been reading yours for the past hour and really need to stop because I’ve got work to do 🙂 I love the topics you choose and the photos you post. I feel like you show parts of the place that you couldn’t find in a guidebook or a travel magazine that has to shock us. It’s more authentic.

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

