Toronto’s iconic street food: hot dogs

I thought I’d join the lunchtime crowd at Nathan Phillips Square (in front of  the City Hall) on a busy weekday. Well, busy for them, not for me, so this gave me the illusion I was in a hurry to go somewhere. I pretended I had an important meeting and  had just enough time to grab a quick bite: a grilled beef hot dog loaded with mustard, green relish, onions and pickles.

I heard that hot dogs were a Toronto institution. At Nathan Phillips Square there are quite a few carts selling beef or chicken hot dogs, Polish, Italian and German sausages, fries and poutine (fries with gravy and cheese curd.)

This is what Can$ 4.50 gets you for lunch:

Food carts in Downtown Toronto

The square was heaving with people

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

One thought on “Toronto’s iconic street food: hot dogs”

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

