Cabbagetown

Cabbagetown got its funny name from the Irish immigrants who settled in the area and used to grow vegetables in their front gardens. Nowadays, the residents of this tony neighbourhood wear that name with pride and fly the neighbourhood’s flag high.

It is a lovely area with mostly Victorian homes, although other architectural styles like Arts and Crafts and Georgian can be spotted too. If I did, you can too!

I spent an enjoyable couple of hours strolling down the quiet streets and lanes, parks and… yes, the cemetery. I don’t know why but I’m kind of attracted (and repulsed at the same time) by them, the older the better. And churchyards too. Any psychologist would have a field day! I like reading the headstones and trying to figure out who those people were and what their lives were like. Nosy? Probably.

The Toronto Necropolis is the oldest in the city, from the 1850s. The chapel reminded me of the Addams family home. Both are in the Victorian Gothic Revival style. The place was so quiet but, in a strange way, alive with the songs of birds.

Click on the photos to enlarge .

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

2 thoughts on “Cabbagetown”

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

