Photo essay: Kensington Market (Toronto)

Kensington Market is a vibrant area, said to be among the best street markets in North America. I loved ambling along, taking the atmosphere in, smelling the smells of faraway places, watching locals go about their business and tourists like me taking photos and window-shopping. Diversity is the name of the game.

This is what you see when you turn right off Dundas St. into Kensington Ave.: row upon row of colourful Victorian homes converted into shops selling everything from Indian silk scarves to second-hand jeans to cheeses from around the world:

People from all walks of life live and shop at Kensington Market. Like the lady in grey, who happens to be a bloke, doing the shopping:

Spices galore! The air smelled of exotic spices and delicious foods: Chinese, Indian, Thai, Chilean, Mexican; you name, it’s there:

Gioconda is eyeing some belts. Which one should she buy?

Alternative means of transport?

 

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

12 thoughts on “Photo essay: Kensington Market (Toronto)”

      1. and I now live in Jersey…so I am an expat too! Great to see your site, really brough back some lovely memories for me!

        Like

  1. Funky markets like this one are great for people-watching…oh yeah, and buying stuff. 😉 I wish I could find all those exotic spices here in Necochea!

    Like

  2. Hola Ana! I am going here tomorrow and am in Toronto now. Thanks for photos, comments. I would like to see Sud America porque necisito una escuela Immersion para practicar y aprender Español.

    Like

      1. Ok, French, Asian, Middle Eastern, Mexican food today- Had some of 1,2,4 but French was just an iced latte. Wish I waited for the crepes. Lots of photos to post later. Need to avoid subway @ rush hr. unless a traveler likes being squished like a sardine- got off a train to wait for a less crowded one. Sent from Droid tablet

        Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

