Return to Toronto

I have finally become familiar with the city of Toronto. I shocked myself the other day when I (yes, I!) was giving someone directions. I even knew exactly which subway stop I needed to get off to go to the Art Gallery of Ontario (St. Patrick, in case anyone was wondering.)

The current exhibition at the AGO is about King Tut. I was wary at first, having heard negative comments about the one in Houston; but this one seemed like the real deal. And it was worth my while. There were some treasures I never expected to see.

There were about six million pre-teen school kids waiting in line. Good? No. Smelly? Definitely. Anyway, I bought my ticket (it would probably have been cheaper to fly to Egypt!) and patiently stood in line.

Behind me was a woman holding something in her hand that caught my eye. It looked familiar but I couldn’t tell what it was. I looked again and saw it was a bag from a well-known bookstore from Argentina. I turned round and said in Spanish “That bag is the last thing I thought I’d see here” She did a double take. “Are you from Argentina?” “Yes” so we got talking. I think we chatted all the way round the exhibition.  We even had lunch together at the museum’s Cafe. It was a pleasant experience.

By the way, you know you’ve been in a hotel for too long when the staff remembers you from previous stays!

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

