St. Jacobs

On Sunday we decided to visit the village of St Jacobs, at the heart of Mennonite country. It is less than 100 kilometres from where we are, so it was a relatively short and pleasant drive.
The village is rather small, it has one main commercial street, 5 or 6 blocks long, lined with tourist traps, I mean shops. We wandered about, did some shopping (I found the jumper of my dreams, wool lined with fleece fabric) and proceeded to Stone Crock, a much touted restaurant said to serve up real Canadian food. In a nutshell, they don’t. Their food is really bad: dry chicken, hacked roast beef (instead of carved), schnitzels so thin I could only taste the Crisco they were fried in, and so on. The only redeeming feature was their cherry pie, but I wondered whether the filling came from a can.
After such delectable lunch, we set off in search of Mennonites. Well, that’s not entirely true, we just wanted to see the countryside, which is very pretty. We managed to spot Mennonite farms thanks to the buggies parked outside the outbuildings. Since it really is rude to take photos without permission, we stopped the car a good distance from one of the farms and stealthily took a couple of pictures with the help of a super duper zoom.

 

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

One thought on “St. Jacobs”

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

