Hello from Canada!

One reason why I like Canada is that they use the metric system. Now I understand how far a place is, how much something weighs, what the speed limit is and the weather forecast. Farewell pesky miles, pounds and degrees Fahrenheit!

We are in Mississauga, about 30 kilometres from Toronto (I’ve no idea how many miles that is and the great thing is, I don’t need to know!). Our hotel is located quite far from the city centre, which is good for Sean because he can walk to work, but bad for me because I have to take a bus if I want to go anywhere remotely interesting. Or shopping. The public transport network is really quite good. We have a rental car, or, rather, vehicle, which I refuse to drive because it’s a big SUV and I’m not comfortable behind the wheel. Well, as you know, cars and I don’t get along. I miss my Jetta, though.

Speaking of buses, the other day I was on one when the driver stopped the bus, opened the door, left without saying a word, went into a Tim Horton’s (the Canadian answer to Starbucks) and came back with a cup of coffee and a small paper bag. No one on the bus so much as batted an eyelid. I didn’t know what to make of it. Apparently, it’s acceptable.

On Tuesday I went to the Royal Museum of Ontario to see the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibition. I took a bus (2o minutes) and the underground (15 stops). My sense of direction is somewhat faulty, so when I surfaced on the street, I have to say, I was kind of lost. I walked towards an avenue whose name rang a bell. But I must have had a baffled look on my face because a very sweet lady said “You look like you’re lost. Can I help you find anything?”

Never leave home without your GPS.

Published by

Ana

Hi, I'm Ana. I'm originally from Argentina but I'm currently living in Dallas (USA) with my British husband. I'd like to share my experiences as an expat and as a traveller.

3 thoughts on “Hello from Canada!”

  1. I have the exact opposite sentiment toward the metric system! It drives me crazy to try to convert recipes, estimate distances, etc. I am completely on board with the fact that it’s a more logical, easy-to-use system; however, when you’ve grown up using the English system, that innate ability to judge temperature, length, weight just doesn’t transfer over!

    I had a silver Jetta when I lived back in the U.S. It’s a great car, isn’t it?

    I’m looking forward to reading more about Canada.

    Like

    1. I learned a couple of equivalences by heart (like if it’s 100F, it’s way too hot! or a pound is roughly half a kilo) but that’s about it.
      An my Jetta is silver too!
      Thanks for stopping by, I enjoy reading your comments 🙂

      Like

Would you like to share your thoughts on this post?

